Getting to know a few of the Happy Feet Kids

Name: Simamkele “Simley” Ngxabazi

Age: 11

Where do you go to school?: Bergsig Primary School in Bonteville

What grade are you in?: 5b

Where do you live?: Zone 22, Langa Township

Who is in your family? My mother and my Grandmother and my little sister. My five cousins and their moms also live with us, also some other children.

What are your favorite things to do?: Soccer, sit with friends, and gumboots dance

What do you like to eat?: I like to eat hamburger and pizza. I like to eat everything.

What do you think you will do when you grow up?: I want to be a doctor because I want t help people.

One word to describe you would be ______?:  I want to be strong.

What is your favorite color?: Blue because it is light and colorful

Who is the most important person in your life?: Mother because she takes care of me.

What do you love about Happy Feet?: I love to dance.

 

Name: Mvelisi “Vetcha Vetcha” Menemene

Age: 12

Where do you go to school?: Bergsig Primary School in Bonteville

What grade are you in?: 5

Where do you live?: Zone 22 at my cousin Simley’s

Who is in your family?: My mother and my sister and three little brothers

What are your favorite things to do?: I like to play soccer and rugby and gumboots dance.

What do you like to eat?: Rainbow chicken and rice and burger.

What do you think you will do when you grow up?: I’ll be a police officer because I want to arrest people who break into houses.

One word to describe you would be ______? Fast

What is your favorite color?: Pink, blue, and red

Who is the most important person in your life?: My mother because she takes care of me and buys stuff for me and pays school fees.

What do you love about Happy Feet?: Going out and beating the boots, and TaSvig. I want to go out and perform at the Waterfront and ArtsCape. I like this place because I don’t want to go in the gangsters and be a criminal. Happy Feet keeps me away from that.

 

Name: Liso “G5” Nipa

Age: 7

Where do you go to school?: Zimasa Primary School in Langa

What grade are you in?: 2

Where do you live?: Langa Hostel

Who is in your family?: My mother and 13 year old sister

What are your favorite things to do?: Happy Feet and soccer

What do you like to eat?: Burger, Pizza, Hot Dog

What do you think you will do when you grow up?: A Doctor. I want to help people.

One word to describe you would be ______?: Fast

What is your favorite color?: Red, I like to color it. And orange and pink

Who is the most important person in your life?: Mom

What do you love about Happy Feet?: TaSvig

 

Name: Lutho “Pluto” Ningiza

Age: 9

Where do you go to school?: Heildeveld Primary in Gugulethu

What grade are you in?:  3

Where do you live?: Zone 22

Who is in your family?: My mom and brother (22) and we live with my three cousins and aunt.

What are your favorite things to do?: Write, read, play soccer, drum, run, gumboots dance

What do you like to eat?: Meat! Burger and sandwhich.

What do you think you will do when you grow up?:  I will go to work at Game [department store]

One word to describe you would be ______? : Funny

What is your favorite color?: Purple, because it’s my color

Who is the most important person in your life?: My uncle. Because he has money and buys me clothes and shoes and he loves me.

What do you love about Happy Feet?: Gumboots

 

Leave a Reply

